Review: Dove Quench Absolute

Dove* graciously sent the entire line for bloggers to try out. Having seen their campaigns for body acceptance and loving your curls, I was excited to try these in my hair. 

Frankly, this wasn’t designed for truly curly or members of Team Natural. Firstly, the shampoo isn’t sulfate-free! I haven’t used a shampoo with sodium laurel sulfate in so long, I couldn’t figure out why my hair sounded like crunchy suds. The rinsability wasn’t great, and my hair wasn’t soft after washing.

The conditioner is a little misleading. The directions lead you to believe you can use this as a leave-in. I tried this only using the Dove products and as a part of the LOC method with poor results. There’s tons of silicone and not much to nourish parched hair.

The Quench Absolute Restoration Mask was so inferior to most deep conditioners, I re-read the label to make sure I wasn’t missing anything. 2-5 minutes isn’t anything “deep”. The ingredients are lackluster, although your hair will appear softer because of the ultra-drying shampoo. This may work better as a pre-poo product, but if you have a ton of hair, the size of the jar isn’t cost-effective.

Quench Absolute Crème Serum? No way. It made my hair hard and sticky, and I used it while my hair was wet. It would be impossible to use in dry hair unless paired with an extremely moisturizing product. 

I really hoped this line was going to be great: something easy to find and affordable. But, it didn’t allow me or my hair to be great, which defeats the purpose of loving my curls.

Ingredients:

Shampoo: Water (Aqua), Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Cocomidopropyl Betaine, Glycerin, Glycol Distearate, Dimethiconol, Fragrance (Parfum), Sodium Chloride, Carbomer, Gluconolactone, Citric Acid, Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride, Tea-Dodecylbenzenesulfonate, Sodium Sulfate, Trehalose, Tetrasodium Edta, DMDM Hydantion, PPG-9, Propylene Glycol, Peg-45M, Arginine, Lysine HCL, Mauritia Flexuosa Fruit Oil, Dipropylene Glycol, C10-40 Isoalkylamidopropylethyldimonium Ethosulfate, Hydrolyzed Keratin, Methlchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone, Mica (CL 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CL 77891), Yellow 5 (CL 19140), Red 33 (CL 17200), Blue 1 (CL 42090)

Conditioner: Water (Aqua), Cetearyl Alcohol, Dimethicone, Stearamidopropyl Dimethylamine, Behentrimonium Chloride, Fragrance (Parfum), Glycerin, Dipropylene Glycol, Lactic Acid, Amodimethicone, Potassium Chloride, Disodium Edta, Gluconolactone, Trehalose, Propylene Glycol, DMDM Hydantoin, Peg-7 Propylheptyl Ether, Cetrimonium Chloride, Arginine, Lysine HCL, Mauritia Flexuosa Fruit Oil, Sodium Sulfate, C10-40 Isoalkylamidopropylethyldimonium Ethosulfate, Hydrolyzed Keratin, Methlchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone, Yellow 5 (CL 19140), Red 33 (CL 17200), Blue 1 (CL 42090)

Mask: Water (Aqua), Cetearyl Alcohol, Behentrimonium Chloride, Dimethicone, Dipropylene Glycol, Paraffin, Hydroxypropyl Starch Phosphate, Fragrance (Parfum), Glycerin, Lactic Acid, DMDM Hydantoin, Amodimethicone, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Gluconolactone, Trehalose, Propylene Glycol, Disodium Edta, Peg-7 Propylheptyl Ether, Cetrimonium Chloride, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Arginine, Lysine HCL, Mauritia Flexuosa Fruit Oil, Sodium Sulfate, C10-40 Isoalkylamidoproplethydimonium Ethosuflate, Hydrolyzed Keratin, Yellow 5 (CL 19140), Red 33 (CL 17200), Blue 1 (CL 42090)

Serum: Water (Aqua), Dimethicone, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Dimethiconol, Propylene Glycol, Polyacrylamide, Phenyl Trimethicone, Fragrance (Parfum), C3-14 Isoparaffin, Peg-8 Methicone, DmDm Hydantoin, Butylene Glycol, Arginine, Lysine HCL, Mauritia Flexuosa Fruit Oil, Iodopropnyl Butylcarbamate, Dipropylene Glycol, C10-40 Isoalkylamidoproplethydimonium, Ethosuflate, Hydrolyzed Keratin, Disodium Edta

*I was not financially compensated for this post. I received a sample for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.

7 thoughts on “Review: Dove Quench Absolute

  1. I often like to stick with smaller brands when I choose products for my natural hair. I see these bigger companies are trying to get in on the natural hair game. This does not sound like something I would try at all.

  2. The moment I saw the picture, I thought to myself, will it be great for coarse hair? Mine are curly but more of a wave then actual curls, but coarse nevertheless. I’m so disappointed. It’s a shame, there’s still so many brands use these sort of ingredients. Then again, there’s still higher price bracket for organic produce, that’s actually worth anything. Anything cheap organic ever worked with me. What a shame, but thanks for your honest review. Saved me few pounds x

    http://www.idorottka.blogspot.co.uk

  3. Thank you for your honest feedback of this product by Dove…I will past this info to my sis and other girls who do Natural styles!

    Ursula aka Blueridge Beauty

  4. I am sorry you were disappointed, however, I did not expect much from Dove. Not as far as it being suitable for course hair. The line is just too gentle in general.

Leave a Reply

