Breasts, A Journey.

So like I was saying, I was diagnosed during my first mammogram. I had DCIS, which seemed like a lumpectomy was the best method for a successful recovery. Well, after additional mammograms, a mastectomy with a immediate reconstruction was the best option for me at the time. a Pedicled TRAM flap was the procedure, which isn’t done as often these days. Which is good, because it wreaks havoc on your abdominal muscles. I was offered a preventative mastectomy for the healthy breast, but asking 10 minutes before surgery was adequate time for processing/decision-making. A decade later, I wished I had for symmetry and peace of mind.

Today’s BCC – breast cancer charity – is The Black Woman’s Health Imperative, who has a campaign to end the disparities among African-American women.

Leave a Reply

